Renewal Support : Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
Customers
What information does my reseller receive?
When your reseller is emailed to accept your invitation to connect, only your company name is shared. When your reseller is notified of required maintenance for your Smart-UPS, the relevant UPS details are shared, such as UPS model and battery SKU. Your contact details are also shared so your reseller can contact you directly to provide maintenance support. The contact details shared are your name, email address, and phone number and job role, if configured, provided in the My Profile page.
What lifecycle events is my reseller emailed about?
Your reseller will be emailed about the following lifecycle events:
Battery End of Life Exceeded
Battery Replacement Due (Informational)
Battery Replacement Due (Warning)
Replace Battery
Warranty Expires on [date]
How do I know if my reseller has accepted my invitation?
If you add your reseller’s email address, they must accept your invitation before they can receive notifications about your UPS lifecycle events. Until your reseller accepts your invitation, the connection status will display as “Invite Pending” in the Renewal Support page. This will change to “Confirmed” when your reseller accepts your invitation. For other invite and connectivity statuses, see What do the different statuses mean?
My reseller has not accepted my invitation. What do I do?
When your reseller is emailed to accept your invitation to connect, they must manually accept your invitation before they receive lifecycle notifications. It is recommended that you wait 7 days to allow your reseller to accept your invitation.
However, if your reseller has not accepted your invitation after 7 days, the invite will expire. If you want to re-send the invitation to connect to your reseller, you can cancel the invite by clicking Cancel and then clicking Update Settings. To send your reseller another invitation, add their email address and click Update Settings.
What do the different statuses mean?
You can view the status of your reseller connection at any time via the Renewal Support page in the web portal. The different statuses displayed are:
Invite Pending: Your reseller has been emailed using the email address provided to accept your invitation to connect. This status will display until your reseller accepts your invitation, or until the invite expires if it is not accepted within 7 days.
Confirmed: Your reseller has accepted your invitation and will receive lifecycle events about your Smart-UPS when maintenance is required.
Invite Timeout: Your reseller has not accepted your invitation within 7 days. For more information, see My reseller has not accepted my invitation. What do I do?
Canceled: Your reseller has opted-out from receiving lifecycle notifications about your Smart-UPS. To add a new reseller, you must reset your settings.
My reseller has not contacted me about my lifecycle events. What do I do?
Your reseller will be notified 3 months (90 days) in advance of when your Smart-UPS requires a new battery or warranty extension. If your reseller does resolve the issue, your reseller will be reminded 1 month (30 days) in advance, 7 days in advance, and on the day of expiry.
You can send reminder emails to your reseller for your lifecycle event via the UPS Status page: Battery > Replace By and Device > Warranty. NOTE: You can only send reminder emails for a lifecycle event if the event occurred less than 90 days ago.
If your reseller does not contact you within this time frame, you are still responsible for your UPS lifecycle events and the maintenance of your Smart-UPS. You can purchase replacement batteries and warranty extensions on the APC website.
I do not want to see the Renewal Support page each time I add a new device. Is there an option to turn this off?
Yes. You can disable this feature by selecting the Not interested? checkbox in the Renewal Support page.
Can I add more than one email address for my reseller?
No, you can only add one email address. If you want to add a different email address for your reseller, or if you are switching resellers, you can disconnect from your existing reseller and invite your new reseller to connect.
For more information on disconnecting from your reseller, see How do I stop sharing information with my reseller?
How do I stop sharing information with my reseller?
You can disconnect from your reseller at any time and lifecycle notifications about your Smart-UPS will no longer be shared. To disconnect from your reseller, navigate to the Renewal Support page in the web portal and click Disconnect. NOTE: If you disconnect from your reseller and you want to re-connect later, you must invite your reseller and they must accept your invitation again.
If I submit my reseller’s email address, do they have the option to opt-out?
Yes. When your reseller is emailed to accept your invitation, they can decline your invitation. Alternatively, they can ignore the email and in 7 days, the invitation will expire.
If your reseller accepts your invitation to connect, they can opt-out at any time, and cancel the connection. If your reseller opts-out, you will be notified via the Renewal Support page. See What do the different statuses mean? for more information.
Will my reseller be the only one to receive lifecycle notifications going forward, or will I also receive them?
You and your reseller will receive lifecycle event notification emails about your Smart-UPS. The lifecycle events can also be viewed via the Dashboard, and the event log.